Ferocious Designs releases debut album, Looking for the Light

Ferocious Designs, the music project of central New Jersey-based songwriter Brian Kelley, has released its first full-length album, Looking for the Light, now available for streaming and download at FerociousDesigns.com. A music video for the title track has also been released.

Looking for the Light features 11 tracks connected by the theme of perseverance. “All of these songs deal with finding your way through adversity, or at least finding the hope needed to navigate through your issues,” said Kelley. “A light at the end of the tunnel, if you will.”

“Looking for the Light” is one of five tracks written specifically for the album. Two songs from Ferocious Designs’ 2021 debut EP (“You and Me Against the World” and “Years Go By”) have been slightly reworked and included on the album. The other four tracks on Looking for the Light are from various points in Kelley’s life as a songwriter.

“‘Domination’ goes all the way back to June 1989 when my longtime friend and collaborator, Christian Beach, and I were in an Asbury Park, N.J.-based synth-rap group with Tariq Mohammed,” said Kelley. “I thought it would be fun to revisit it, and I was so happy to have Christian and Tariq contribute parts for the song — it was like a virtual reunion of our old band.”

Beach and Mohammed provided backing vocals on “Domination.” Beach played acoustic guitar on “Domination,” “The Greatest Love” and “Peace of Mind.” 

Watch the lyric video for “Looking for the Light”

Music and lyrics by Brian Kelley.

Brian Kelley – vocals, keyboards, guitars and other instrumentation

Stock Videos by Videezy

Ferocious Designs – Looking for the Light

  1. “Looking for the Light” 4:17
  2. “Try” 4:40
  3. “The Greatest Love” 7:34
  4. “Waiting on You” 4:46
  5. “You and Me Against the World” 8:00
  6. “Years Go By” 4:13
  7. “Domination (feat. Christian Beach & Tariq Mohammed)” 4:17
  8. “No Time for You” 3:11
  9. “Peace of Mind” 6:51
  10. “Now or Never” 4:27
  11. “G.F.Y.” 6:19

All songs written, performed, programmed, produced and mixed by Brian Kelley, except:

Tracks 3 and 9: Acoustic guitar – Christian Beach

Track 7: Music by Christian Beach and Brian Kelley; main lyrics by Brian Kelley; rap lyrics by Tariq Mohammed; acoustic guitar, backing vocals – Christian Beach; backing and rap vocals – Tariq Mohammed